The Girls (I hope) Are Home

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Broodica, Sep 1, 2010.

1. Broodica

Broodica Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 20, 2010
    Cascade Foothills, WA
    Newbie here! Received our 5 chicks today from My Pet Chicken. All healthy and alive. They were all eating and drinking happily within an hour.....a couple were a little slow on the uptake after getting an initial drink into them. Will post pics tomorrow.

Welcome Ghost (Delaware), Foghorn, Gene and Rufus (RIRs) and Makarov (Golden Laced Wyandotte) - not a female name among them...lol, but I am surrounded by men, so what do you expect.

I am having a heck of a time maintaining the temp at 95F. I have a 250 infrared on one end of the brooder and the thermometer goes from 86F - 99F without me touching the light. Methinks I have a crappy thermometer....so just trying to adjust it by their behaviour, but they seem pretty schizoid about it. Sometimes they lie right under it, other times on the periphery, sometimes some are right under it, stretched out sleeping and others are sleeping over to the side.....driving me nuts, but they have lots of room to move away if they get too hot. I think I am going to be up all night watching them!

Totally paranoid about pasty butt, so wiping down there bottoms with a warm washcloth if I see anything hanging around down there....

We've all been hanging around the brooder for hours watching them, and now Ghost gets upset if we all leave. They are TOOOOOOO cute! My dog is completely ignoring them....not in the least bit interested.