The girls stopped laying

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Ryan2016, Feb 21, 2017.

1. Ryan2016

Ryan2016 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 20, 2015
    One of my girls was out free ranging on 2/3/17 and was slautered by a hawk. The rest were not touched but they all saw what happened. Will that cause them to stop laying(stupid question). I was thinking because of the stress of seeing what happened to there sister. They are 10 months old. Before this happened I was getting 6-7 eggs per day from 10 hens and now...Nothing..Any thoughts. I am still new to all of this

2. Anne4596

Anne4596 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 27, 2016
    Western Nevada
    I am sorry to hear about your loss. The stress of watching a fellow flockmate die right before their eyes may be causing them to be stressed, but it is most likely the absence of your hen that is causing distress. With your hen suddenly gone, the pecking order will be all messed up. This might be causing stress. To help your hens feel safe and stay safe while free ranging them, I have found that it is useful to provide 1-3 simple shelters for your flock out in the yard. A simple internet search for "chicken tipi" on Google can provide you with lots of inspiration. If your area allows it, a rooster is also a great way to protect your flock. Good luck!

Last edited: Feb 21, 2017
  3. Ryan2016

Dec 20, 2015
    In the past week I put up a temporary run. A 10'x12' canopy wrapped in a bunch of chicken wire I had on hand from another project. When I have the money I am going to buy a large outside dog kennel and wrap the top and all around it with the chicken wire for extra security. I also plan on building a new coop or remodeling the current coop which I just kind of threw together cause I was moving.

4. Anne4596

Anne4596 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 27, 2016
    Western Nevada