The Hatch complete - pics

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by sdhawk, Jun 24, 2010.

1. sdhawk

sdhawk Out Of The Brooder

May 16, 2010
    Central Georgia
    It's day 20 and I am starting to get a little concerned. No rocking, no pipping, nothing yet. 6 days ago I had 11 lively embryos. The anticipation is driving me nutty. This is my first attempt at incubating, I made an incubator and I recently bought a couple table top incubators for my subsequent attempts. I figure if I don't see anything by day 24 the likelihood of late quitters is what I will have. I hope and pray that's not the case. Either way, I'm not going to wait long for my next batch.

Last edited: Jun 30, 2010
  2. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    If they haven't pipped yet, there's no harm in opening the incubator and candling. It will at least either set your mind at ease or make you even more worried, lol!

It's not unusual for them to hatch a little late, and it's possible that they're just sleeping when you look in the bator. They won't rock all the time.

Good luck!!

3. Miss Red

Miss Red Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    Trinity, Texas
    It was day 16 when I dropped something on my broody hen and broke all but two of her eggs. Chicks were nearly formed and a few took quick peeps... I was horrified, so it could be worse.

Good luck with yours.

4. Doodle_Doo

Doodle_Doo Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2009
    Missouri City, TX
    true..best to check if they havent pipped yet..mine always start something right on the 21 or hours before the day starts...
    temp might be off a bit so it can delay the hatch..but it wouldnt hurt to check and help calm the mind..i know it can be tough [​IMG]
    i get like that every hatch

5. sdhawk

May 16, 2010
    Central Georgia