The most amazing chick birth

BCJC1982

In the Brooder
Feb 21, 2016
I haven't posted on here in a long whiel I browse from time to time. But the most amazing thing happened to me and I couldn't think of a better place other than facebook to share my story.

Ok so we had some chicks that hatched on saturday night sunday morning 12 eggs 10 chicks. True easter chickens hatched by a hen that I hatched from an egg in our incubator last year.
There were two eggs that didn't hatch. On monday around 2 in the afternoon the hen decided it was time to move on from them and get the hatched chicks foraging. Totally normal for a mama hen to have a couple eggs not hatch. So i decided that I would take them to school and show my 6th grade pre ap kids ( I am a junior high science teacher) what a half developed chick looked like. I picked the eggs up last night and put them in my bag so I wouldn't forget them. When I got to school I was on my computer getting ready for the day when I heard what sounded like a peep peep coming from my bag. (This is around 7:45 in the morning almost 18 hours without warmth) I thought no way that a chick is alive that long with out heat. So i checked the egg by tapping it and heard nothing. I said I must be hearing things I got chicks on the brain. I took them to my demo desk and set them down and as soon as the egg hit the table I heard the peep. I tapped it again and this time I heard a tap tap tap back. WHAT IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So i quickly broke the egg open and sure enough the chick was breathing and softly peeping but was obviously very weak and extremely cold. I rushed around looking for a light bulb (good thing I teach science) that would give off warmth and got a quick little brooder set up for him with a baking pan, kleenex, and a desk lamp. I dabbed him with a little water from time to time to keep its skin from drying out and he slowly regained strength and finally fully fluffed out. His motor skills are still developing but he is