The most exciting day but HELP !!! ;)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Spongegirl, Jan 16, 2014.

1. Spongegirl

Spongegirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    middle earth
    ok, I know I know, I should not be asking at this stage of this game but here we are...I'm new to chickens.

I have a flock of 2 roos and 5 hens. The are all about 9 months old...ish... the roos are a silkie and a frizzle cochin. The hens are all silkies.
    I thought the other day I noticed a hen lagging to come out of the coop and thought "I wonder" but quickly put off looking for a nest for another day. Then I noticed some love happening :) yesterday and decided to look under the coop A" frame roof for eggs after a hen was late for food. Sure enough! 7 eggs! omg! so...now what?

questions: I will look for the answers but I thought I might get some definates on this.

Is there a chance that the eggs will hatch? if I make sure what conditions are met?
    Do I separate the flock or is that too stressful?
    Also, I need both roosters so is now the time to separate them too? I don't want the dominate one to kill the other.
    Should I just leave them alone?
    When hens first start laying what are the embryos chances of making it?

It has been so cold and there has been a heat lamp pointing toward the coop opening. the eggs are near there. I haven't touched them yet but the hens don't know what they are doing. I'm in Kentucky, for a few days days have been 45 and 50 degrees. At night they have probably been sitting on them.

I thought of taking the dog crate all wire, and put on porch with the heat lamp and covering it all around with plastic to hold in heat and humidity and putting all the hens to nest those eggs. What am I doing here folks? Please help me! and thank you for reading my ridiculous post :)

2. Spongegirl

Jun 4, 2011
    middle earth
    I am going to candle a couple of eggs and go from there.

3. Spongegirl

Jun 4, 2011
    middle earth