1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

The most humane way

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Deannep36, May 15, 2009.

1. Deannep36

Deannep36 Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2009
    I'm new to this, and were getting ready to butcher our first meaties in a couple of weeks.
    My question is what is the most humane and least painful way to kill them?
    I know some slit the throat. Does the chicken die right away?or is it in pain as the blood is draining?
    Chopping the head off, how do you do it right without hurting them to much?
    I know these questions may sound stuped, but I just want to do it right with out hurting them to much

Thanks
    Deanne

2. kingmt

kingmt Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    Mason WV
    I think there is a difference between best way & most human way. If you put them in a butchering cone & cut the blood vain in there neck they will stay calm & bleed out good but choping the head off is probley more humane. Only messier.

3. kingmt

kingmt Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    Mason WV
    Also this will probably go all over the place with opinions.

4. cw

cw Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2009
    green co.
    i agree

5. citrusdreams

citrusdreams Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Those are not stupid questions. I firmly believe that you don't have to be cruel when dispatching your livestock. They still are living things and deserve a quick, painless death. And you don't know until you ask.

IMOHO, the most humane and quickest way is cervical dislocation or/and decapitation. It's fast and the chicken dies immediately.