The "Not Perfect" Coop/Run

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by AfroChickens, Apr 17, 2017.

1. AfroChickens

AfroChickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2017
    Henry County
    So I'm a newbie to chickens. I have had my 4 Buffs for almost 2 weeks. When I began the project, I had a different design in mind but ended up having to make adjustments to lower costs and to make it more practical.

I never built anything outside of engineering software types of buildings. I didn't watch any videos on the subject. I initially wanted it to be completely open like a aviary buuttttt hardware cloth is expensive. My focused was being sturdy and predator proof. I also wanted it to not get too hot because I am in GA and our summers are pretty crazy. I know buffs are cold hardy but I didn't want to cause a heat stroke. Paint was oops paint so I had no color scheme in mind. Wood was either salvaged (lots of wood left over from the people that owned the house before us) or bought. We had a hill on that part of the yard and the ground was tough to work so that's why there is some uneven going on. Roof is a combination of polycarb to let the sun in and aluminium roofing.

Inside is filled with garden soil. The floor is a combo of hardware cloth and concrete cause I was trying to cut some costs. I made it large because I wanted them to feel like they have tons of room. I have too many cats in the area and cover for hawks to let them free range. Also, the occasionally loose dog.I used plastic bins as nesting boxes. I have Buff Orps so making a low roost wasn't an issue. I have a little motion light for predators. The unpainted wood was later additions to make it predator proof. I'll probably paint it later. It's a little dusty from old concrete dust and no rain lately. To connect the different ends of wire, we (my bf) did some wire weaving. We used the wire that came with the hardware cloth.