1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

The peeps are here!!!! My first batch of chicks!!!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mudhen, Feb 19, 2007.

1. mudhen

mudhen confidently clueless

Jan 15, 2007
    Shepherdstown, WV
    :eek: Just got a call from the post office, the chicks are there and they put them in the supervisor's office to keep them warm!!
    I'm so nervous, this is my first time with chicks. Had to get 25 from McMurray's, so have two brooders ready (the litter box kind-one I bought, one I made) so they won't be to crowded. They're set up in the guest room...this is my husband's face> :mad:
    Did I mention I'm a little nervous? Temps are holding at only 90 degrees with the 75 watt light so I'm picking up some 100 watters on my way there. It's still cold out so I'm taking my hot/cold cooler (set on warm) lined with a blanket to keep them warm on the trip home.
    As I write this,...could it be? One of my cats was just pawing at the UFO incubator on my desk...maybe she hears something? I don't, but wouldn't it be amazing that since I had almost given up hatching my own and got this batch of day-olds that the eggs actually hatch!
    My hands are shaking!! This is so silly!![​IMG]
    Just had to post... I'm on my way to get the little peeps now... [​IMG]

P.S. No, don't worry, UFO top is taped down and they can't get to the eggs, and guest room door is closed so they can't get in there either. All peeps (the arriving ones and possible hatchs will be safe!)

Last edited: Feb 19, 2007
  2. Foghorn

Foghorn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Connecticut
    Wow! I can only imagine how you feel. So exciting! Please post pics! [​IMG]

3. mudhen

Jan 15, 2007
    Shepherdstown, WV