1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login, otherwise join BYC here!

The perfect mix of chicks. Which Roo?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by BirdBrain, Dec 26, 2007.

1. BirdBrain

BirdBrain Prefers Frozen Tail Feathers

May 7, 2007
    Alaska
    So, if you were ordering a new flock of birds with about 2 each of the following, what roos (2) would you choose for this crew? Keep in mind I have kids so need a fairly friendly variety.

Black Australorp
    Buff Orpington
    White and Black Jersey Giants
    Speckled Sussex
    Welsummer
    Cuckoo Maran
    Barred Rock
    Salmon Faverolle
    Silver Gray Dorking

All opinions welcome. [​IMG]

2. hsm5grls

hsm5grls Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 3, 2007
    tucson
    I am no expert but if I were ordering I would order a barred rock roo. Just because I like the Plymouth rocks and my barred girls are sweet birds. My partridge rock roo was a real sweetheart too.

3. jkcove08

jkcove08 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2007
    Iowa
    If you are planning on hatching your eggs I would suggest going with 3 roos for that many hens. I think if it was me I would have a BO roo, oh ya I do..[​IMG] Mine is very quiet and actually is larger then the top roo in my group. I would also get a speckled Sussex, I dont have these yet but would like to. For a third roo I would probably get a cuckoo or salmon. I love color and with that nice variety you are sure to have some nice chicks. Jenn

4. BirdBrain

BirdBrain Prefers Frozen Tail Feathers

May 7, 2007
    Alaska
    My DH and I are hoping to move back to "the old home place" where my parents currently run cattle and I am already dreaming of the fun I'll have with my birds. I am also wanting some ducks and geese. DH said I could have anything I wanted, but he draws the line at pigs...maybe he'll change his mind.