1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

The Price Of DE.....Is It Always This Expensive???

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by TwoCrows, Jul 6, 2011.

1. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I wasn't sure where this topic belonged, thinking maybe since DE is used quite a bit around the coop and such that it would fit in this section. But I went to my local feed store for a few things today, and a bag of DE caught my eye. I have never used it before, but after reading so much about it on the forums here, I thought I would give it a try.

It cost me $32.95 for a 4 pound bag!! [​IMG] I guess I had better use it sparingly. What all is DE good for? I was planning on using it to dust the floor of the coop, nest boxes and dust bathing areas. It is also pet grade and can be put in their food.

Anyway, what all are you paying for this stuff? You would think it was as valuable as gold!! [​IMG]

2. VI KING RANCH

VI KING RANCH Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2011
    Campbell River
    At my feedstore it only costs me $19.95 for a 50 fifty pound bag [​IMG] although I am in Canada [​IMG]

3. JamesInCorona

JamesInCorona Out Of The Brooder

Sep 2, 2010
    Corona, Ca
    Sounds pretty expensive...
    We recently got a 50lb bag of food grade (it has to say 'Codex' on the bag) for $55 with tax...at a local pet store.
    Oh, and food grade DE wasn't easy to find here in So Cali either...most places just looked at us like we were nuts...LOL

4. Cowgirl71

Cowgirl71 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2010
    Missouri Ozarks
    I got 50# of DE through Azure Standard for twenty-some dollars, including shipping.

Have you used any of yours yet? Can you return it for a refund?