The right birds to show????

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by wooody_1, Sep 8, 2010.

1. wooody_1

wooody_1 New Egg

Sep 3, 2010
    Indiana
    Good Morning,
    I am new to BYC and also very new to raising chickens. This started with my daughter wanting to show chickens in 4H next year... the coop was easy. And its done... Now I am in a pickle on the right birds to show. But would also like to benefit from this also ( fresh eggs...yum) my daughter is all for it, so I had her look and we also visited local people with chickens... she really likes the Barred Rock, White Rock and Black ast.... Any suggestion...any help on deciding..... I know we want a friendly breed, and if we buy pullets now will they be ready for fair time.....

2. texasgal

texasgal Brood with an Attitude

Apr 18, 2009
    Quote:[​IMG]

You might try posting in the New Member introductions section .. lots of folks answer you there!

Not much help on the chicken breed thing .. I love just about all of them!

3. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

Most 4-H shows seem to be more just for fun and not so much about whether the birds meet the APA standard or not. If that's all you want then probably most any chicken will do. If however you want to get her started right in showing find a reputable breeder who breeds to the standard of the breeds you want and get some from them.

4. catwalk

catwalk Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2009
    Pick a breed that you'll enjoy the rest of the year! I've seen all the breeds you mentioned at shows, so you shouldn't be without the competition that keeps it fun.

5. Black Cochin Bantams

Black Cochin Bantams Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2010
    Iowa