The store clerk *said* they were Australorps, but...

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by chickundercover, Mar 19, 2012.

1. chickundercover

chickundercover Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2012
    Utah
    My "Australorps" feathers are coming in with white penciling. The IFA near me was having some issues with signs on the cages being mixed up, so Im pretty certain that's what happened. So what breed did I really get? She's the black one in the middle.[​IMG][​IMG]

Thanks for helping me out! Now here's to just hoping that my mystery chicks arent roos as well!

2. Sphinx

Sphinx Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2010
    Utah
    Maybe a barred rock?

I'm not good with either breed so if someone comes along and says something different, believe them instead of me.

3. juliechick

juliechick Transplanted Hillbilly

Jun 27, 2008
    Southeast AR
    Yes, looks like a Barred Plymouth Rock. Looks like a pullet based on the dark coloring.

4. Hezz

Hezz Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2012
    Poconos, Pennsylvania
    Well, it's definately not an aussie, I can tell you that much. Aussie's are black and have dark legs with pinkish coloring on the bottoms of their feet. The white on it's head, along with the white barring starting on the wings is pointing me toward a Barred Rock too. I also agree that it looks like a pullet.

5. BlazeJester

BlazeJester Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2011
    Midway, GA
    I hate to be the one to say this, but barred rock pullets don't really get that clear barring until later in their development. All the ones I have that have this much definition to their barring and bright white on the feathers are cockerels. [​IMG]

6. Bullitt

Bullitt Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2012
    Texas
    What are the other chicks? I am guessing the yellow ones are Buff Orpingtons? What are the grey ones?

7. Sphinx

Sphinx Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2010
    Utah