The Taj Mah-Cluck!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by BluesChicken, Feb 2, 2013.

1. BluesChicken

BluesChicken Out Of The Brooder

Oct 13, 2012
    CA Bay Area - East Bay
    I've been dithering for several months...do I get 3-4 nice friendly hens so that I can enjoy their company and eggs, or do I not so as to maintain my "freedom" to ride my motorcycles and travel to far-away places. After going back and forth (and with some encouragement from wife, children and friends...and from cruising the discussions in BYC!!) I decided that best way to commit would be to build a simple, little coop. At this point you should visualize eye-rolls from all my children, grandchildren, wife, friends and neighbors...

I started with a purchased plan from Plans Design ( www.plansd.com ) for a small salt-box roofed coop. I am generally happy with the plan I received, and very happy with the interactions I had with the real people there. The plans would get a grade of B+...the people would get a grade of A+ ! I do not recommend this route unless you actually have some experience with building.

[​IMG]

You start by building a 4x5 platform on "skids"...HaHa! I thought "skids" meant you could slide it around easily. After it is finished it weighs approximately, allowing for any moisture it absorbs from the air, 1.8 million pounds!

[​IMG]

It begins to take shape. I modified the plans to fit my particular yard, meaning I moved the door, hatch and nests around from the original.

[​IMG]

Ah yes...still taking sha ... wait ... Dang the shiny side goes on the INSIDE!! (Note to self: Read instructions carefully).

[​IMG]

Much better! Time for tar-paper and shingles before the rain gets here. Well ... at least the tar-paper.

[​IMG]

Rain rain go away...Come again another day...

[​IMG]

Doh! One shingle short! Oh well, the basic painting is done. Wish those windows would hurry up and get here.

[​IMG]