The truth about backyard chickens

Lucy_R

Hatching
9 Years
Aug 6, 2010
Ok, so first off, I'm totally new to this, so hello!
I've been reading lots so far, and I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I have a question.
I have recently been thinking about keeping some chickens in our yard. We are very into organic foods and lifestyle, and I love the idea of having our eggs come from a source which I know and control. We buy organic free-run eggs, but they are quite expensive and I think in the long run, we would save by having our own chickens. So I have been telling a few people my idea, and they all say that I am crazy. They say that chickens are filthy, poop all over themselves, ruin the yard, and stink horribly. Another popular opinion is that chicken feces are full of all kinds of diseases and it will be everywhere on the grass, and my kids will step in it when they play, etc. So, I basically am wondering if any of this is accurate? I can't imagine that all you lovely people would keep them if it were true!

if your looking to go organic you should also consider the droppings as valuable fertilizer. You can keep them contained in a large run and coop and not have to worry about the droppings in your yard. Mine are only let out of their run a few hours a week and as for stepping in the droppings, Im sure I do it often. My mother used to collect eggs as a girl in her bare feet. There are many ways to control the droppings, I prefer deep litter method which is cleaned out a couple times a year, others prefer a droppings board cleaned often to keep it from accumulating under the roost. What ever you decide is up to you and how much "hands on" you would like to be.

First of all
welcome-byc.gif