The Waiting game

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by GPowell, Jan 25, 2014.

1. GPowell

GPowell Out Of The Brooder

Jan 17, 2014
    Eastern North Carolina
    I'm a rookie when it comes to raising chickens. With that being said as of right now my small flock consists of 2 Golden Buff hens. I'm truly facinated by them and find myself just observing them for hours at a time scratching around the frozen back yard. I can tell who the boss of the 2 is already hehehe. Here in Eastern NC we have been going through a cold snap, much like the rest of the country. For the past few days the day time temp hasn't gotten above 40 degrees. The night time lows have been in the teens. When I got my hens the guy said the one was laying and even gave me an egg from her. I go and check the nesting boxes every morning and even put a few golf balls in there to try and get them to go in. It doesn't even seem like there interested in the nesting boxes, or laying at all. I used sawdust and some fresh aspen wood shavings that I stole from my snakes to put in the nesting boxes. Does the cold affect my hens that much to where the won't lay. Should I change out my bedding? Are they still stressed from the move? I know this thread is like beating a dead horse and I apologize. Any help tips or tricks would be great. Thank you.[​IMG]

2. alaskanchickens

alaskanchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 21, 2014
    South central Alaska
    It's not the temps! Our hens were all laying when we had -30 degrees here. The light effects them more than anything, or lack there of. How long have you had them for? Are you sure they're laying? I have never used aspen or wood shavings in our boxes, just straw so I don't know if that would be it or not, I doubt it though. My mother in law uses cedar shavings in hers and that puts off quite an odor!

3. GPowell

Jan 17, 2014
    Eastern North Carolina