Their first night out!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Junior112, Jul 24, 2014.

1. Junior112

Junior112 In the Brooder

Jul 13, 2014
    Bend, OR
    Okay so I'm new to owning chickens and its my three little girls first night outside! I added a sick for then to roost on but they huddled in the corner instead. Are they too hot or too cold I'm in socal and its 75 @ 9:15 p.m. I'm so stressed out. Any ideas?[​IMG][/IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. dunedin

dunedin Chirping

Jun 29, 2014
    They are probably just a bit scared of the new digs and like that nice warm secure corner. How old are they? They look well enough feathered to be outside. Dont worry mama! You have a good setup.

3. dunedin

dunedin Chirping

Jun 29, 2014
    If they get too hot they will move away from the lamp.

4. Junior112

Junior112 In the Brooder

Jul 13, 2014
    Bend, OR
    @dunedin it's papa lol but they'll be 7 weeks old and spend most of the days outside. This morning as soon as I opened it they jumped out. However they seemed happy..

5. Peeps61

Peeps61 Songster

Apr 19, 2014
    NW Florida
    They'll start using the roost too. It just takes them a little bit of time to get acclimated.

6. Junior112

Junior112 In the Brooder

Jul 13, 2014
    Bend, OR
    Do you think they need to be boxed in? Or cab I leave it open? I want then to stay warm but if they get hot or want water or food I want then to be able to get it. I only close then on at bed time.

7. Peeps61

Peeps61 Songster

Apr 19, 2014
    NW Florida