Therapy Chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by chillchick, Apr 7, 2018.

1. chillchick

chillchick In the Brooder

Apr 7, 2018
    Hello! I am a special education teacher in New Jersey. I have my undergraduate degree in social work, seven New Jersey Education certifications and my Masters in Special Education. I am also an adjunct professor in the Education/Special Education Department of a university. I have used classroom animals with my students in a private school setting and three public schools. My students have emotional/behavioral issues, as well as learning disabilities. The animals provided a nurturing classroom environment, helped to develop social skills and were integrated into the academic standards. My students with ED/BD also completed a Service Learning Project, sharing their knowledge of the classroom pets with students with multiple disabilities/autism. I was also a winner of the Pets in the Classroom Lesson Plan submission for two years in a row.
    We have had Reading Therapy Dogs, frogs/toads, lizards, guinea pigs, hamsters, gerbils, turtles, hermit crabs, fish... We called one program, “Reading with Rodents!”
    My students have had terrific, healing, growing experiences with the animals!
    I am now looking into developing a program using chickens – and I came across your site.
    Any information anyone would be able to provide would be greatly appreciated, especially in the area of "certification" of my chickens.

2. KikisGirls

KikisGirls Reading. Must read more. Premium Member Project Manager

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    My Coop
    rjohns39, Teila, 007Sean and 3 others like this.
  3. chickengirl778

chickengirl778 Songster

Apr 17, 2017
    This site is sure to be a great resource! Where were you thinking of getting the chickens, and where you thinking of keeping them in your own backyard or at the school?

4. FrankieDoodle

FrankieDoodle Free Ranging

Jul 29, 2017
    California