Therapy or Educational Chickens?

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by wbruder17, Jul 25, 2011.

1. wbruder17

wbruder17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2010
    Portland, OR
    I am a substitute teacher. Well I'm a licensed teacher who hasn't gotten a job fulltime in 5 years. So, I have decided I no longer feel the desire to pursue a full time teaching job. I'm fine sticking with subbing, but I want another parttime job. Not just a table waiiting or grocery checking job. I've done that and I'm DONE with that. I want to do somethingg I LOVE and get a little money for it. I've already got the egg business just about up and ruunning (just waiting on the girls to start the real business) the subbing and summer school jobs keep me fairly comfortable, and the eggs could bring in another $150 or so a month.

What I REALLY want to do is combine my obsession with chickens with my degree in education. I have several very sweet chhickens who, I dontt think, would mind too much getting toted arouund and played with by kids. I would like to travel around and give little seminars on urban chicken keeping, sustainability, urban gardens, etc. Chicken therapy, like they do with many other animal breeds, would be ok as well, but I also want my chickens to live in the coop/backyard and I don't think a hospital would admit a non-sterile bird.

Does anyone have information/ thoughts regarding this? Or how I can get started?

2. ShelterGirl

ShelterGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2011
    Sorry I can't offer much help on the subject, but I support your idea and have somewhat followed this idea. The shelter I work at is allowing me to make a presentation Saturday with my little roo who has a sweet personality and is so well mannered. He is very good at controlling his...urge to use the bathroom...for about 5 minutes so as a tip- GET A CHICKEN DIAPER [​IMG]