Thermometer help!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by apollora, Oct 6, 2013.

1. apollora

apollora Songster

Apr 18, 2013
    Walla Walla, WA
    Hello everyone!
    I have a question on incubating eggs. This is my first attempted at hatching eggs. I read all the instructions and made sure that my bater was keeping consistent temp for 24hrs before setting my eggs this morning. I purchased a hydrometer and thermometer while out today and when I placed that in the bater it's reading 94.6 while my glass thermometer is reading 101.5!
    Before starting my incubater I checked the temp of the glass thermometer with another household digital thermometer and they were within a degree of each other. I have a still air incubater so I set it to 102, does anyone have any suggestions to make sure I'm getting the correct temp in the bater ?

2. TNchickies

TNchickies Chirping

Oct 7, 2013
    No specific ideas...maybe just go by one thermometer housed inside of the bator? [​IMG]

3. apollora

apollora Songster

Apr 18, 2013
    Walla Walla, WA
    I just calibrated a probe thermometer and placed it in the bator today and it is saying 94 too, since the eggs have only been in the incubator for 2 days can I just increase the temp or is my clutch ruined ?

4. TNchickies

TNchickies Chirping

Oct 7, 2013
    Well, i hear that the eggs need to be incubated for at least five days before candling. I would increase the temperature slightly, and when the eggs have been incubated for at least five days, i would candle them and see. if you see veins and stuff, you've done it! if not, i sorry. [​IMG] Good luck!!!!!

5. apollora

apollora Songster

Apr 18, 2013
    Walla Walla, WA
    I will be candling them this weekend so I will be keeping my fingers crossed !!

6. Kyzmette

Kyzmette Songster

Aug 28, 2013