Thing hanging from my chicken?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by southernboy502, Mar 6, 2017.

1. southernboy502

southernboy502 New Egg

Mar 6, 2017
    Hi all,

New member i am hoping somebody can tell me what this is, i noticed it on my chicken about 2 hours ago and i am really confused if it is something vital or not sense my hen has been acting normal with it and i have seen her laying on it.[​IMG]

2. ChickenChaser9

ChickenChaser9 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 3, 2016
    Well I am no expert but that seems serious to me. Anyone else?

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Oh no, that looks like a bad prolapse with bowel hanging out. I would get her and separate her immediately. A prolapsed cloaca is where the oviduct and large intestine are joined together, and normally in mild cases only the cloaca pops out an inch or so. This picture appears to have bowel tissue invovement and much more serious. I'm not sure this hen can survive. Can you get her serrled in a basket inside, and take a closer picture? Do you have saline where you could keep the tissue wet? Honey is good for helping to reduce swelling. I will look at the new picture, and hopefully others will add advice.

Last edited: Mar 6, 2017
  4. Eggcessive

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Welcome to BYC by the way. Does it look like the hen may have been pecked about the vent. Cannibalism can cause or worsen this type of prolapse.

5. Wyorp Rock

Wyorp Rock Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Sep 20, 2015
    Southern N.C. Mountains
    Welcome to BYC. I'm sorry this is your first time here.

I agree with the above treatment measures that @Eggcessive has given you. It looks like the bowel is possibly hanging out as well. Keeping the tissue moist is essential, if you don't have honey you can apply hemorrhoid cream to help reduce swelling and keep it moist.