1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

think (can post link if anyone is interested).Japanese gazebo coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by OverEggstended, Jan 19, 2010.

1. OverEggstended

OverEggstended Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2010
    SW Washington State
    Here is the coop my sweety and I are planning on building. It is the one design we both could agree on. Should go nicely with the koi pond. It is a bit of a rough sketch, as I am not a pro at sketchUp and it does not let me do an octogon... only a hexagon. The plans for an "easy gazebo" I have are octagonal I think (I can post a link if anyone is interested).

The yard will be hardware wire inside trellis fencing. The birds (leaning strongly toward Wellies) will be free-range most days as long as weather is good and I am home.

Under the laying coop will be a "sandbox" and feeder and waterer in good weather. The roosting box (gazebo) will have plexi on the outside of the windows in winter.

We will start building in February most likely... I will keep you posted!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  2. Whispering Winds

Whispering Winds Chillin' With My Peeps

It is wonderful!!! Where did you get the design? Now, I am a new one to chickens, don't even have any yet [​IMG] but plan on them hopefully by mid summer. . .we are going to have to build one, and I love the looks of yours. I hope other "old tyme" chicken people get on here and give you their opinion, so the boo-boo's will be addressed before you start!!!!

3. OverEggstended

Jan 11, 2010
    SW Washington State
    It is my own design. I am sure it has some flaws. I am already expecting the comments on the fence not being tall enough. LOL