thinking about buying an incubator...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by ajcress, Dec 21, 2007.

1. ajcress

ajcress Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2007
    Masontown, WV
    I am new at having chickens. I am now thinking that I might want to but an incubator and raise my own (buying to eggs off of our people at BYC!) by the time I would buy the breeds that I would like to have I would save more money this way. Plus I think it would be fun to learn and watch. BUT... I need friendly advice to help get me started I know nothing about it! Can anyone help???

2. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

Get a hova-bator model 1588 with a turner. [​IMG]

3. d_rooster

d_rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 19, 2007
    North Augusta, SC
    Ditto!!!! to what Katy said. I used an incubator without a turner for my first incubation experience. Although I enjoyed seeing the eggs each day and being involved with the incubation process, turning the eggs by hand on a regular schedule got to be a bit of a chore.

With my new Hovabator 1588 w/the auto egg turner option, I can get away with checking on them once in the morning and once in the evening to verify temperature and humidity without worrying that the incubator will drift too far off the ideal settings. This incubator has been worth the investment.

4. skeeter

skeeter Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 19, 2007
    Parma Idaho