Thinking about muscovies...

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Gagroundhog, Nov 29, 2013.

1. Gagroundhog

Gagroundhog Out Of The Brooder

Nov 29, 2013
    Hi everybody, newbie here. [​IMG] I've been thinking about getting some Muscovy ducks but have a few concerns before I do. I am duck and goose experienced as well as chickens and turkeys. We had muscovies years ago and loved them. We lost them to predators which is my biggest worry.
    The thing is, we have a huge slug, roly poly and a multitude of other pest plaguing my garden so some ducks on it for a while would help while its not in use. Chickens don't seem to like them. So I thought about muscovies. It would be fun to have them again but we have predators here. We keep our chickens and turkeys fenced in or in chicken tractors to keep them safe and at home. Our property is surrounded by woods. I could put a fence around my garden but how hard is it to contain muscovies. Is clipping one or both wings effective? I know this also slows them down for predators so they will have a safe house at night and fenced during the day or would it be better to let them fly and lock them up at night. Our last ones were lost to bobcats and coons, also was a different property. Here we have coyotes. We have seen bobcats and foxes here too. Everybody is put up at night.
    I also read about dewinging them as ducklings. Would love input on this.
    Thanks in advance! [​IMG]

2. learycow

learycow Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2011
    Southern Maine
    From my experience with them (I've had them for about 5 years now) pinioning them as ducklings is not the best thing to do. Since they are able to fly, you want them to be able to especially if you have a predator issue. Pinioning them ground them and gives them less defense.