thinking about some quail. Need some info i know nothing but willing

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Tammy N, Oct 9, 2011.

1. Tammy N

Tammy N Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2011
    Florence Oregon
    Hi all , i am new to quail so now i have none but i do really want to learn before i get them.
    Id like to have them in my potting shed area and i am not sure that would be ok either .

where i am at i may not get away with having chickens still checking into it but we have tons of red wigglers and spiders and the mites are going after my new seedlings every year,

so i thought maybe some quail as the chickens would be too big,

if not then i could always make a new home for some . like i said i know nothing not even the type of diet they have so if someone is willing to teach me as a mentor i would greatly appreciate it ,
    Tammy

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    You need to decide what type of quail you are interested in keeping..Coturnix, Bobwhites, Gambles, etc...Most folks keep them in what they call pens. (check out the sticky at the top of the quail section for pics of pens). I keep mine in an aviary setting.

Quail are not as noisy as chickens, however if you keep a lot of them, they can get loud.

You will need to find Gamebird food for them as they need a high protein diet.

Do some research here on line into the different types of quail and the housing needed. You can then come back here and ask specific questions. Good luck!

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Oh, and [​IMG]

4. Stellar

Stellar The Quail Lady

Feb 6, 2010
    Tampa Bay
    [​IMG]

5. Tammy N

Oct 9, 2011
    Florence Oregon
    Ty Both i was looking and the scaled Quail seems to be ok for my area ,
    I have a guy locally that has a brown quail and well they seem not to be doing to hot or maybe its just the breed ,