Thinking of aquiring ducks? Please advise.....

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by dkosh, Dec 18, 2011.

1. dkosh

dkosh Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 6, 2010
    Eastern MA
    Hello!
    I'm a farmer of sheep and chickens but over the past couple of years I've had more and more customers asking for duck eggs. I'm located in Southeastern MA. Over the past 6 months or so I've been giving it serious thought. I need to know a few things that I was hoping someone could help me with.

1.)Do all ducks require water to swim in?

2.)Do they lay all year like chickens?

3.)Can they eat layer pellets or is it a special grain?

4.)What kind of shelter do they need?

5.)How winter hardy are they?

6.)What breed is best for laying?

7.)How much do you charge for eggs?

Thank you!

2. Aria

Aria Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2010
    We had Call Ducks and a POND. Ducks need LOTS OF WATER and they are messy.
    Same shelter as chickens. Same food as Chickens. Want to be out in Winter.
    You need to DRIVE them in.

Chickens go in and out by themselves. Our Ducks only layed eggs once a year. Chickens lay every day.

We had Call Ducks for many years. Now we have Silkie Chickens. WE PREFER CHICKENS. THEY ARE MUCH EASIER TO RAISE...AND YOU CAN TAKE A VACATION. Aria

3. JulieNKC

JulieNKC Overrun With Chickens

Sep 25, 2010
    Kansas City
    Quote:

4. P-Funk

P-Funk Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 20, 2011
    Franktown
    I got a duck who got bored with the chooks and ran away after 2 days.

5. dkosh

Jul 6, 2010
    Eastern MA
    Thank you for responding so quickly. I do have a pond type wet area but it isn't near the chickens. I need to think hard but I'm still interested in them. What type would be considered the most hardy?

6. dkosh

Jul 6, 2010
    Eastern MA
    Sorry about my lack of duck knoweledge but what is a chook?

7. JulieNKC

JulieNKC Overrun With Chickens

Sep 25, 2010
    Kansas City