this grit thing

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Cynth, Apr 28, 2011.

1. Cynth

Cynth Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2011
    Lyman, Maine
    Just need confirmation. chicks get grit when they eat anything like vegitation. Do they need it when they eat worms,bugs, or this sort of thing? What about oats and dry foods? obviously not yogurt, but how about scrambled eggs? thanks.

2. Cynth

Cynth Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2011
    Lyman, Maine
    Oh and I make homemade plain yogurt, how often can they eat that?

3. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

It is probably better to have grit available, whenever they are eating foods other than starter feed.
    Bugs have hard parts so grit would be helpful.
    Keep all treats to about 10% or less of their diet.
    The yogurt is fine, even daily.

Imp

4. waterguy81

waterguy81 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 15, 2011
    Southwest Louisiana
    I am no professional but... Think of your brooder, coop, or run as the enviornment. In the wild without human interaction the chicken has access to sand, dirt, rocks, grass, water, and all the things you can think of. If you bring a little of each thing into there home they will be much more happy and healthy. Scatter a small portion of each item around and let them find it. (trust me they will) and that is how it is in nature.

I have 26 Rhode Island Reds and they are 3 weeks old now. I gave them 2 bottle feeders and 2 bottle waterers then scattered around on top of there pine bedding I put the scratch and grit. They really thrived and stayed busy and you wouldn't believe how happy they seem.

Play the mother nature roll and you will never go wrong. And dont worry yourself if you lose one or two. That is life and it IS going to happen. Watch the flock as a whole more than one on one.

Hope this helps.

5. goldminer1976

goldminer1976 New Egg

Apr 4, 2011