this is an emergency!!!!!!!

lucyboo

Songster
8 Years
May 30, 2011
North Carolina
hey everyone!i am a young farmer and we r havin problems w/our new chicken tht is the oldest of the flock! she looks like she is drunk but also looks like she is dying! we hv little missters out there to spray them cool whn it is extremily hot which it has the last couple weeks! she has 1 "room" mate tht grew up with her so we hear! rose (the "drunk" hen) stays in her laying box ALL day and never comes down for a drink of cold water nor a bite of food! i hv been luvin on her so she feels luved if she is about to pass on! we hv 6 chickens total. 4 in a big coop and run and 2 (rose and hennrietta) in a medium size coop and run. she has lost ALOT of feathers and whr the bare skin is she has red skin! i hv no clue on wht this is all about! plz help me! wht is the best solution? all answers r appriciated GREATLY!!! i will try anything! oh one more thing she also dusts like 15 times a day! i know this bc we hv a farmstead and r homeschooled! lol thanx!

<3 lucyboo

p.s. we dont hv roosters so she isnt laying in the box bc of a fertilized egg! lol 4got to put tht in thr!

Sounds like shes gone broody, and chickens will go broody and sit on eggs even if they are not fertile.. Get her some fertile eggs and let her hatch!!!

Hello! So sorry you've got a sick chicken. Sounds like it's really hot where you are. Maybe she had a heat stroke? I would suggest that you give her water with a dropper, possibly with vitamins/electrolites in it to give her a little boost, and if you can, put her in a crate or something and keep her where it's a bit cooler for a few days.

Good luck to you!

Sharon