This is my first post, I NEED help with my quail chicks. A few of them have started losing patches o

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Goof333, Feb 10, 2015.

1. Goof333

Goof333 New Egg

Feb 10, 2015
    They are about a week and a half old and this just began within the last few days, prior to this they were completely fine. About 5-6 out of the 16 chicks have developed balding spots on each side of their necks, some only have it on one side of their neck. I have not seen any pecking each other and yet I have not found any feathers on the bottom of their brooder. They have been grooming themselves a lot. Some chicks effected are smaller than others.

The odd thing is it seems to be only my gold and pharaoh coloration chicks that are losing feathers, my 3 Texas A&M chicks are extremely fluffy and plump.

I have checked under their wings and around the balding spots for mites or lice and I have not found any.

This is my first time with quail chicks and I hatched them myself.

I have never had this happen with any of my chicken chicks.

Is it dietary? I was unable to find any game bird starter at my local feed store so I substituted for some regular chick starter and I combined it with about 1/3-1/2 regular quail feed and some finely crushed up meal worms.

I change their bedding frequently and have started moving a few at a time outside to a much larger pen with a single bantam game hen who had adopted 3 of the quail chicks as soon as they hatched. The 3 outside who were raised by the banty hen are not balding in any way. Maybe indoors it was overcrowding?

I have searched the far corners of the internet and could not find any answer, so I made an account here to post this question.

Thank you and please hurry with help. [​IMG]

2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida