This is my first time incubating & Question!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by noriko, Jan 5, 2009.

1. noriko

noriko Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2008
    N E Pennsylvania
    I just got the eggs by mail. Do I have to place the eggs at room temperature with the large end up for couple hours or so before placing them into my incubator & under my brooding hen since it's been pretty cold? If so, how long? Thank you! Noriko.

Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  2. AWChickens

AWChickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 16, 2008
    Bloomington, IN
    Yes! I didn't do that with my first batch of shipped eggs (didn't know any better), and got a MUCH poorer hatch rate than if you let them slowly warm up and allow the air cell to stabilize. I've heard a lot of opinions on here as to how long, I let mine sit at room temp for 8 hours before I put them in the incubator. Good Luck [​IMG]

3. noriko

Nov 9, 2008
    N E Pennsylvania
    OK! I'll put the eggs in my incubator and under my bloody silkie tonight. Thank you for the information. You are my big help! Noriko.[​IMG]

4. Tuffoldhen

Tuffoldhen Flock Mistress

Jan 30, 2007
    WV
    Anywhere from 6 hours to 24 hours is what most people do. Have a good hatch!!

5. needmorechickens!

needmorechickens! Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2008
    West TN
    What ya hatchin?
    Good luck!
    ~Rebecca

6. noriko

Nov 9, 2008
    N E Pennsylvania
    Tuffoldhen: Thank you for your reply! I'm glad I joined BYC. So many nice people!

needmorechickens! : I got 9 Welsummer eggs. I'm so nervous but, sooooo excited too! How many eggs do you think I can put under my silkie hen because Welsummer eggs are so big?[​IMG] That's why I'm going to use my incubator too.(It's ready!)

I'm sorry if my English sounds funny since I'm Japanese;) Noriko.

7. Tuffoldhen

Tuffoldhen Flock Mistress

Jan 30, 2007
    WV