This is probably a REALLY dumb question.....

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by JennH07, Feb 10, 2011.

1. JennH07

JennH07 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2010
    Hastings, MI
    I have chickens and this is my first time with chickens, but have never had ducks. So, here goes, is the care of ducks the same no matter what breed? I am thinking of getting 3 fawn runner ducks in the spring, but I can only find general info on caring for ducks. And how should they be introduced to the chickens?, they will all be free-ranging together this summer.

2. secretquail

secretquail Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2010
    Chapel Hill
    I'll just start off the answers... Mostly the duck care is pretty standard. If you get bantams, you have to change things a bit b/c they can fly, as do muscovies. Otherwise, a duck is a duck. They all like to swim, eat peas, poo, and destroy gardens. Have fun!

3. JennH07

May 1, 2010
    Hastings, MI
    Thanks!!!! Sounds like a blast! My daughter will be thrilled, she has been bugging me non stop for ducks. LOL:D

4. AdamD77

AdamD77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2010
    Bedfordshire, England
    Not a dumb question [​IMG] The main things that differ within the breeds are:

-Size and shape - this will have an effect on their housing and pen. Runners are relatively big - even though they are skinny they are very tall. They like to run around and forage, so providing them with a relatively large area would do them good.

-Flight ability - as previously mentioned, the smaller breeds (such as calls) as well as muscovies can fly and will need to be clipped or fully contained. If you're thinking of runners then in general they can't sustain flight for long and can't get very high so clipping isn't needed.