This may be a dumb question!!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Denece&Lacey, Jun 12, 2008.

1. Denece&Lacey

Denece&Lacey Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2008
    Alvord, Tx
    Is there any way to keep roosters from crowing? I live in town and I got a rooster from my Grandmother and he started crowing at 5:30 this morning!! I hate to have to take him back her other rooster was beating up on him. [​IMG]

2. arlee453

arlee453 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2007
    near Charlotte NC
    Some have had luck with keeping the rooster in a dark place until it's OK to crow

can you bring him in a garage/basement, etc in a dog crate at night?

3. Denece&Lacey

Mar 17, 2008
    Alvord, Tx
    I have a cage inside the barn. I may have to do that with him. Just until I get up in the mornings. I could cover him up with a sheet or something. Do you think that would work. I have chicks but I am new to the grown rooster thing!!!![​IMG]

4. Chickending

Chickending Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2007
    Minnesota
    Sorry but there is no way I know of to stop a rooster from crowing. It's nature.

5. Chirpy

Chirpy Balderdash

May 24, 2007
    Colorado
    I have heard what arlee said; that some people have kept their rooster in a completely, totally, 100% dark place (which is really hard to do) and that would keep him from crowing until later in the morning.

I don't know if that really works but would be worth giving it a try.

Roosters crow... it's in their job description (page one [​IMG]).

Maybe you could rehome him to someone that needs just one rooster and doesn't have one already. Try putting him on Craigslist or put up a notice at your local feed store.

Hope you can keep him. Good luck.

6. Denece&Lacey

Mar 17, 2008
    Alvord, Tx
    I hate to get rid of him. My Grandmother gave him to my daughter. Thats why I was trying to find a quiet solution!!

7. duckman

duckman Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2008
    michigan