1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

This may seem silly but...

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by beakkeeper, Aug 31, 2008.

1. beakkeeper

beakkeeper Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2008
    Can you train chickens to come when you call? [​IMG] I read on some goofy website that you should use a certain reassuring sound when you feed them so they know you are their friend.[​IMG] I would think that it's possible... but I really don't know. Does it depend on the breed? All the breeds we're looking at are described as "calm" some are "docile and friendly" others are just "tolerant". Any ideas?

2. happyhen

happyhen Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2008
    Northeastern Ohio
    I'm new to chickens, but all mine come when I call "here chick chick chick". I think it's because they know treats are involved! Like the cat, dog, kids and hubby, they will work for food! [​IMG]

3. chicken stalker

chicken stalker TOS Rocks!

Aug 31, 2008
    Binghamton, NY
    If my chickens see me or my kids coming they flock to us...expecting a treat. My grandmother used to "call" her chickens (here chick chick chick....)when she feed them. I don't know if they were coming because of her voice or because of her presence.

4. Ugly Cowboy

Ugly Cowboy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2008
    Corn, OK
    Quote:YES!!! Whenever I'm gonna feed 'em, I cluck at 'em like I would a horse and they come runnin 90 or nothin. Its pretty funny to see, actually!

5. Bi0sC0mp

Bi0sC0mp Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 21, 2008
    Raiford,FLA
    yes you can i got a free range flock of 5 i call them they come a running right to me

6. fowltemptress

fowltemptress Frugal Fan Club President

Jan 20, 2008