This MN girl has a lot of questions for you...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MNfarmgirl, Mar 13, 2013.

1. MNfarmgirl

MNfarmgirl New Egg

Mar 13, 2013
    Hello everone!

I am new to BYC and would love, love, love, to peck your brain (excuse the pun). LOL!

My family, with the exception of me, is new to raising chickens. We have a Dairy Farm and milk Jersey Cows. Our milk is considered Grade A, so we cannot have chickens mingling with the cows according to the State Inspector. We will be keeping the chickens in some type of coop/shed away from the barn or pastures, with a fully enclosed spacious area outside for the free ranging effect. Our children are 5 and 4 and LOVE being outside and working with animals. They have recently joined our local 4H chapter and are excited to bring some chickens to the County Fair. I have a hidden adgenda though. I want the kids to learn so much more than just raising a chicken. Respondsibility. Relationships with animals. Caring for animals. Great work ethic. Working with money because of purchases/supplies. COOKING with the delicious eggs. Just plain old morals and values! I think this project will become much more than that, as I have read that your chickens become your pets and your obsession! :eek:)

My questions for you...
    When I was a young girl my mom and dad raised chickens to butcher and then sell. What term are those kind of chickens given? Are they called broilers?

I am familiar to raising that type of chicken, but now that I am married and have small children, I am interested in raising laying hens. Our family is going through 1-2 dozen eggs weekly, and I would love to have them on hand and fresh at a moment's notice. Which breeds do well in some seasonally harsh weather. Hot and humid in summer, very cold lots of snow and windy in winter?