This years pullet molting?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by freebird05, Aug 27, 2014.

1. freebird05

freebird05 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 4, 2014
    Hi peeps,

I am rather new to chicken keeping & have read about molting in older chickens. However my Colombian wyandotte which was sold to me as seemingly a pullet molting right now.
    So i'm asking my self, do under 1 year olds molt or was I sold an older hen which isn't laying eggs?

Thanks for reading!

2. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    It is possible that she is a hen, but it is just as likely that she is molting as a pullet. Many chickens wait until they are over a year of age to molt, but some don't. Last year, I had 3 pullets (less than a year of age) molt as fall got closer. It just varies with each individual bird.

3. Den in Penn

Den in Penn Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2011
    SE Pa.
    Chickens that hatch in late fall can molt at the end of the next summer. Having gone through nearly one cycle of shorting and then lengthening days.

4. freebird05

freebird05 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 4, 2014
    Thanks for the answers! :)

5. Bean789

Bean789 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2014
    Spring Hill, FL
    I have been wondering the same thing about molting in young pullets. My girls hatched April 7 and none of them have started molting as yet. The answers here have cleared up my apprehension that they would molt mid Dec or Jan. LOL Hopefully, they will go a full cycle of weather changes before they lose their feathers as most of them have just started laying.

6. katekearby

katekearby Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2014