Ticks and fleas.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by AAJ, Feb 22, 2012.

1. AAJ

AAJ Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 21, 2011
    I have some white silkie chicks and I was wondering what can I do to prevent fleas and stuff like that from getting on them, because I see little fruit flies staying on them.
    Please help!!!

2. wekiva bird

wekiva bird Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2010
    South Carolina
    Put a dusting area for them with DE in it . It has help with the flies and the ants in there coop.

3. old tom

old tom Out Of The Brooder

Jan 18, 2012
    South Austin since 1963
    What's DE?

4. old tom

old tom Out Of The Brooder

Jan 18, 2012
    South Austin since 1963
    OOPS. Yeah. Dia=whatever earth. Will plain old ashes from the brush burn pile work as well?
    I'm new at this and need to know these things. Thanks.

5. Bullitt

Bullitt Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2012
    Texas
  6. SteveBaz

SteveBaz Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2011
    Pacific North West
    I have not really heard fleas and ticks much on chickens but mites and lice and red lice is a concern. DE (diatomaceous earth) is a fantastic product: