Timid Broody Hen suggestions needed

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by SimplyLogan, Jan 11, 2015.

1. SimplyLogan

SimplyLogan Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 12, 2012
    Cajun Country
    My smallest, most picked on (by both groups) went broody and is sitting on 8 eggs. They don't pick her featherless but they always chase her off or fuss at her. She is a blue Wyandotte under one year of age. I was very surprised when she went broody, but I am sure she is, not doubt in my mind. I wanted to leave her in the coop to raise them (Lord willing, I get some little fuzzy butts). However, I am afraid that since she runs from all the others she may not protect the babies once they hatch. I know the rooster sometimes helps protect the babies, but I also know that is no guarantee. I would like to get some advice as to if I should separate her (I have a brooder) or leave her and see what transpires. I have always purchased new little ones, so this is my first time letting a hen hatch her own.

[​IMG]

This pic was before they stated laying eggs and crowing. "HE" was supposed to be a "SHE" and I knew something was not quite right. [​IMG] OT, he does not like females! He has no problem with my husband and son. Wait till my back, or the lady that sits for me, have our backs turned and he is attacking us. Ugh! I haven't decided his fate. P.S. I named him gumbo!

2. howfunkyisurchicken

howfunkyisurchicken Overrun With Chickens

Apr 11, 2011
    Tn