Tiny worms in chicken poo!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by jeepers210, Sep 27, 2010.

1. jeepers210

jeepers210 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 21, 2010
    Hanover PA
    I am new to raising chickens and have only had them for two weeks. I purchased a small coop that houses three or so. I purchased three 1 year old red sex links from a farmer down the street from me. My kids love to collect the eggs every day. Today I noticed in a frech pile of poo there were several tiny white things moving in the pile of poo! What should I do? Are the eggs a danger???? Help!!

2. BCBrian

BCBrian Out Of The Brooder

Aug 29, 2010
    No worries, almost every animal (chickens included) have worms. Worming healthy chickens is a recipe for disaster at the worst, and futility at best - and the chickens will begin to re-acquire worms the day after you stop medicating them! Cull sick birds, and don't worry about healthy ones. In that way - you will be creating generations of birds (in the future) that will have a natural resistance to normally occurring germs, worms and disease.

3. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    The eggs should be fine; it is unusual for even a very wormy chicken to lay eggs with worms in them, and you would see them.

Are you sure they tiny white things didn't find the poo after it left the chicken?

It would be best to get them tested, but you could go ahead and worm them with Wazine followed by ivermectin, or a similar regime -- plenty of info on here about how to do it.

You could also ask the farmer if he ever worms his chickens. Some do, some don't. Actually, I would ask him before I gave worm medicine.

4. Judy

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Quote:As you can see, there are varying opinions, and this is certainly a valid approach to raising chickens.

I would suggest you do some research in the emergencies section on worms, and make you own decision.