Tips for hatching eggs you sell that don't work out?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by LongRanch, Feb 26, 2017.

1. LongRanch

LongRanch Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2016
    Hi everyone, I have some questions for experienced sellers as I'm not sure how to go about this situation. I have hatched eggs from several other breeders, have messed up a lot and learned a lot along the way and now I think I'm doing really well and have started hatching eggs from my own chickens (previously I didn't have any roos so wasn't able to). I have been getting really good fertility from my girls and recently started selling their eggs for hatching as well (for cheap -- only $1 per egg, since I'm still relatively new at this and they are just barnyard mixes). I store the eggs under my bathroom sink -- I have them titled, and turn them to tilt the other way about three times a day. I have learned which girl I get poor fertility in, and which girl's eggs just don't seem to develop.. and I don't include those girls' eggs for sale (unless requested), nor do I include eggs from the newer layers who I haven't been able to check for consistent fertility for a long period of time.. I don't wash the eggs, and I don't sell dirty/poopy eggs. All of the eggs are dated in pencil.