tips on incubating duck eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by hdowden, Apr 14, 2012.

1. hdowden

hdowden Overrun With Chickens

Aug 14, 2011
    louisiana
    i will be getting some cayuga eggs here in the near future but i have never tried incubating duck eggs. are there any tips that yall can give me to have a better hatch rate? thank you

2. NeTNChknLover

NeTNChknLover Out Of The Brooder

Mar 13, 2012
    Kingsport, TN
    I am interested to see what people say! I have wanted to incubate some duck eggs, but I heard it is very difficult (especially since I'm not a newbie at it, but definitely not quite yet a pro). Good luck, cayugas are CUTE!

3. hdowden

hdowden Overrun With Chickens

Aug 14, 2011
    louisiana
    im nervous about incubating duck eggs since i have never done it before

4. Lacrystol

Lacrystol Hatching Helper

Jun 13, 2009
    Diamond, Ohio
    there is a form made for Duck questions just like yours. I have never done the type of ducks you are doing but I can tell you, what I'm doing now.. I have call ducks in my incubator right now. I had 13 eggs and 12 of them are showing the veining spider like thing. Yek because I hate spiders.. the 13th egg I got rid of because it was a quitter..