Tiptoes?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by OkieT, Mar 6, 2012.

1. Hi, Everyone. This is my first time on this forum (just joined BYC) and I am also just getting started with a flock. I have a friend who "chickens" as well and she has a problem with one of her young hens that neither of us can diagnose. The hen started out with drooping tail and lethargy and has gone off her feed and water. This has been going on for about a week now. She stays hidden under the nest boxes, but if you pull her out and try to stand her up, she looks like she is trying to stand on tiptoe and cannot keep her balance. I've tried googling it, but have been unable to find anything. Anyone have any ideas/advice? I would think she should have isolated the bird, at least until she knows what the problem is, but she still has her with the flock. They have just recently enlarged their chicken pen, but the chickens have had free range about every other day.
    Any help you all can give will be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited: Mar 6, 2012
  2. Leslieb118

Leslieb118 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2011
    Louisville
    Well first of all, [​IMG]