To-be chicken owner

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by taetae, Feb 24, 2014.

1. taetae

taetae New Egg

Feb 24, 2014
    Arizona
    Hi! I'm going to be purchasing 4 or 5 chicks from a local feed store. I've been reading up to prepare for taking chicks home, but I'd love any information anyone could give me. I apologize in advance for my many questions below [​IMG]

I have a plastic bin to use as a brooder, but I might find/make something more permanent I can easily build a cover for. How tall should the brooder be if I don't have a lid/cover?

I'll start building a coop before I get chicks, but when is the earliest I could buy them? I'm not sure how long building a coop will take, so I don't want to have chickens without a finished coop.

Since I'm new to chickens and the likes, how much time do you spend cuddling and playing with your chicks? I have plenty of time, but I would like to know if they are hard to care for.

I'm nervous getting them without knowing what to expect, so any other details/stories/helpful hints would be greatly appreciated! [​IMG] Thank you!

2. The Lazy L

The Lazy L Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2011
    Build the coop first.

Raise the chicks in the coop. When they chicks become chickens they will know where home (coop) is.

Now you don't have to worry about having chicks and no coop.

3. HS Pye

HS Pye Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 13, 2013
    Texas
    Hi,

Welcome to BYC! For the first couple of days they won't be able to get out of the brooder. I would just cover it with hardware cloth. If you can build a coop in a month then you can get them at age day 1. Only advice I recommend is to keep them with a constant supply of heat, water, and food. And btw, if they don't drink at first, you might try gently dipping their beaks in the water so they get the idea. Glad you joined us ;)!

4. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens

First of all, welcome to BYC!