To buy or not to buy?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by 4hooves&featheredfriends, May 7, 2009.

1. 4hooves&featheredfriends

4hooves&featheredfriends Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 5, 2009
    New Hampshire
    OK I have never done this before..I've kept most of my postings to ag related topics. But this time I thought I would see what your thoughts are....

2000 GMC Sierra 1500 with 155k miles with the need to replace both rocker panels ($1500) and new tires ($400) prior to registration in October. 2nd vehicle 2000 Saab 9.3 with 130k on it running like a charm.

Do we -

buy a new GMC Sierra using our GM dollars as a down payment, financing for 6 years at about $300/ month. Insurance increases $120 per year and registration is going to be about $400. We would keep the miles low by only driving it for necessary trips not just to take the truck out - (no fun, huh.)

or

Repair the truck, only use it for towing and buy a used vehicle, allowing our GM money to lapse but having smaller payments per month for a shorter period of time. Yet these are vehicles that might require repairs along the way.

Please weigh in on this - I appreciate it.

2. HennysMom

HennysMom Keeper of the Tiara

4hooves&featheredfriends :

OK I have never done this before..I've kept most of my postings to ag related topics. But this time I thought I would see what your thoughts are....

2000 GMC Sierra 1500 with 155k miles with the need to replace both rocker panels ($1500) and new tires ($400) prior to registration in October. 2nd vehicle 2000 Saab 9.3 with 130k on it running like a charm.

Do we -

buy a new GMC Sierra using our GM dollars as a down payment, financing for 6 years at about $300/ month. Insurance increases $120 per year and registration is going to be about $400. We would keep the miles low by only driving it for necessary trips not just to take the truck out - (no fun, huh.)

or