To candle or not to candle?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by sharingchickens, Feb 25, 2014.

1. sharingchickens

sharingchickens Out Of The Brooder

Jan 25, 2014
    Indiana
    This is my first time incubating eggs. I purchased the best incubator on the market (brinsea advance) and all seems to be going well. Today is day is day 5 and I have tried candling with a led flashlight and really can't see much. They are all light brown and dark brown in color. Am I better off just leaving them alone and waiting it out?

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    It's up to you. I rarely candle since the eggs are so dark. Try taking the lens out of the flashlight so the egg sits down closer to the LED.
    Rather than candle I weigh the eggs when I set them and at intervals to make sure weight loss is going well. They should lose about 0.65% a day. I candle before moving to the hatcher just to make sure they are filling up.

1 person likes this.
  3. jeremyhodges

jeremyhodges Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 29, 2013
    San Diego
    While I've never incubated chickens eggs, I did incubate endangered birds' eggs for the San Diego Zoo for 7 years. We had many eggs that were dark colored, making candling difficult. In my experience, the only real benefit to candling would be to be able to remove any infertile eggs that weren't developing. The only thing growing in them is bacteria!! Other than that, it's very uncommon to see a problem on candling that you can take preventive action on. That being said, it is very cool to see the embryos developing so I totally understand why people like to candle so much!!!

1 person likes this.
  4. mulia24

mulia24 Chillin' With My Peeps

Usually there must be vein visible when you candling it in their first week if you are using proper torch in proper room/location(dark).

I love to candling them, watching their development day by day.