1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

to heat or not to heat

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by MadChicken98, Sep 23, 2012.

1. MadChicken98

MadChicken98 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 23, 2012
    I'm new to chickens this year so this will be my first winter with them. They are only about 5 months old, I know they are growing and will be bigger by the time the snow starts falling but I'm still worried if they will be warm enough. I have 7 chickens in about 40 square feet of coop. should I be concerned?

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Welcome to BYC!!!

Sort of a huge difference between being in Alaska or northern Alberta and being in relatively balmy North Carolina. Knowing where you are would be most beneficial in providing a basis for answering. All I can tell you is that our chicken barn has wide open ventilation, a very important thing, I do not heat, as there is no practical or economical way to do so in such a building. We've never "heated", as my father, nor my grandmother before me did either.

We only keep cold hearty breeds, no exotics or bantams and our birds do just fine in our severe winters. No problems. Remember the chicks sleeps covering their bare feet and are covered by nature in a thick down coat. Is -25F cold? Oh my yes. They don't "like" it, but they do just fine. Again, welcome to BYC.

Last edited: Sep 23, 2012
  3. MadChicken98

Sep 23, 2012
    Thank you for the welcome[​IMG]. I live in new england. One of my birds is a campine bantam, I've read that they can get frostbitten easily. I'm most worried about him but the others i think will survive. I was thinking of plugging in a heat lamp(like for brooding) in at night just for him(the campine). thanks so much for helping!