To incubate or not to incubate...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Mountain Sunshine, Jan 1, 2010.

1. Mountain Sunshine

Mountain Sunshine Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 24, 2009
    Cleveland, Georgia
    Yes I am new to the chicken world and I am learning. I have done so much reading and researching. I have read all of you talking about incubating the eggs and how to go about that. But, what about the natural way? I haven't read anything on letting the hen just sit on her eggs and letting them hatch like nature intended.
    Can anyone elaborate on this for me? Thanks a lot.

2. OwensMom

OwensMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 4, 2009
    CO Western Slope
    I am new as well but I do know a few things. First, not all hens will sit on eggs. That would be the easy to get chicks!! Most people don't want broody hens because those hens Lay fewer eggs. am I right on that? So breeders are breeding this triat out. Again right? I am trying to decide how to get new chicks this spring and am considering an incubator. Which mountains do you live in. I am on the western slope of Colorado. Lynn

3. Mountain Sunshine

Oct 24, 2009
    Cleveland, Georgia
    Quote:I am in the North GA mountains. (long way from you) I have so much to learn when it comes to chickens. but, I am loving every minute of it!
    What you said makes sense.

Melissa

Last edited: Jan 1, 2010
  4. davidb

davidb Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2008
    north east Georgia
    I always keep a few game hens to put eggs under when they sit to me the feed is a lot cheaper than have a incubator and the hen will raise them until there 2 or 3 months old

5. OwensMom

Oct 4, 2009
    CO Western Slope
    davidb-what breed are game hens? Do they always go broody? sounds better to me than aan incubator!!

Melissa, chickens are the best. When our kids were little we grew all of our own food and they loved gathering eggs!!

6. clarkai

clarkai Out Of The Brooder

Aug 18, 2008