To Incubate or not!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chickengirl1193, Dec 2, 2013.

1. chickengirl1193

chickengirl1193 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 12, 2013
    north Jersey
    This is my first year with chickens, i have four hens that still havent started laying but they are extremely close! Everything is going extremely well and im finding the hole chicken keeping extremely enjoyable :D I want a few more chickens and im not sure if i want to incubate and hatch some myself or get some chicks in the spring. So i have a few questions to help with my decision:)
    It is advisable for a newbie to incubate eggs? ( my aunt just successfully hatched 17 guinea keets who all survived so she is always there if i need help in a pinch)
    If i were to buy shipped eggs and only want to incubate 6 of them, how can i tell which eggs are the best candidates for incubation?
    is incubation more trouble than its worth for only a few chicks?
    Lastly, if i decide to incubate a few eggs should i wait until the spring?
    Thanks guys, im a total newbie and i really want to try incubating eggs myself but i also dont want to do anything stupid! All advice is greatly appreciated!

2. Rocky Rhodes

Rocky Rhodes Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 5, 2013
    North Georgia Mountains
    First of all, I believe that incubating eggs is something that every poultry lover should try. But, if you only want a few more and plan on ordering eggs through the mail, I would suggest just buying a few chicks. If you want to experience the miracle of life firsthand and are prepared for the possibility of failure, then I would suggest incubating. I would also suggest that you find eggs locally for hatching. I have tried to hatch shipped eggs and the results were a very low hatch rate.(about 1 out of 5) If you decide to incubate, you should read a lot about it first. There are a lot of informative threads on this site. Good Luck!

3. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed