To keep a rooster, or to not keep a rooster?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by tennesseechickie, May 18, 2011.

1. tennesseechickie

tennesseechickie Out Of The Brooder

Apr 3, 2011
    Lewisburg, TN
    I know this may be the dumbest question posted on BYC EVER, but here goes. The thought of cracking open an egg to cook, and finding a half-formed baby chick disturbs me ALOT. I know there is no chance of that happening if I dont have a rooster in my flock, butsay I do keep a roo, if I collect the eggs every day, would there still be a chance of that happening? A friend of mine will only eat grocery store eggs because when she was a child, she said she saw her grandmother crack open eggs to find half-formed baby chicks! I figure maybe they didnt collect the eggs regularly? Or if the eggs are fertilized, do the chicks start forming immediately?
    Thanks, and sorry, this is my first flock. Im still learning! [​IMG]

2. srpaint

srpaint Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2011
    Illinois
    This is my first time raising chickens so I am interested in the answer too. But if I had to guess I would say you are fine if you collect everyday. I am pretty sure they have to be taken care of properly in order for the chick to form. So If you collect them that isn't going to happen. But again that is a guess.

3. Shannon33

Shannon33 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2010
    Eastern Shore, VA
    If you collect everyday, that is not going to happen. All I see in my fertilized eggs is a little tiny white dot/circle, never a forming chick, I promise, lol.

4. Nausicaa

Nausicaa Out Of The Brooder

May 1, 2011
    Las Vegas NV
    I've put a lot of thought into this too, as I'm thinking I might have a roo or two in my flock of chicks... [​IMG]