To light or not to Light

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by desertgirl, Nov 29, 2009.

1. desertgirl

desertgirl Roo Magnet

Mar 29, 2009
    Albuquerque,NM
    I posted this in anothr thread, but so far no luck and I would love some input....[​IMG]

Question-how much will it prolong their lives if I chose not to use lights during the winter months (i.e. not give them a break)? Could someone tell me more about the pros and cons of lights vs. no lights? I want to do the right thing, but I also want eggs!

2. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    DG, there are a million opinions on this subject. I sent you a PM. [​IMG]

3. desertgirl

desertgirl Roo Magnet

Mar 29, 2009
    Albuquerque,NM
    Thanks!!![​IMG]

4. joyous

joyous Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 3, 2009
    Davenport, Iowa
    I am new also and I studied and studied the pros and cons and opinions of lighting the coop! Finally I decided on a happy medium. I have the lights turn on at 6 am before I go to work, and have them on a couple of hours after dark. Not to extend laying, but to be easier for me to tend to them with my schedule. Really not enough to hurt them, nor to help egg laying but for some reason it seems sane to me. Good luck!

5. Mac in Wisco

Mac in Wisco Antagonist

May 25, 2007
    SW Wisconsin
    I just answered in the other post, but here are my thoughts again:

That's a tough question to answer.

Pros of lights: more eggs

Cons of lights: higher electric bill (slightly higher, unless you have a very, very large coop), less natural for the hens