To mist or not to mist (EGGS)

sunleacreations

Songster
8 Years
Mar 30, 2011
Maryland
I just found 2 eggs from my Sebastopol, they are that first of the season so I'm not sure how fertile and this is my first time incubating Goose eggs so I was wondering who likes to mist and who prefers to just leave them be. I also noticed they are a little discolored with dirt, i pulled all the straw off, should i wash them or let them be and if i wash them how should i go about doing so.

Right now i have a forced air hovabator, i don't have the racks for goose so i will be turning by hand! on the bright side i have a King Suro on order to make my life easier. I have not set them yet, I'm waiting to see if i get a few more and what the verdict is on misting.

Thanks!!!

Never wash an egg going to be incubated. We have racks that auto turn with the eggs on their sides, but I also hand turn 3 times a day and mist when I turn the eggs. Good luck with your eggs.

I'm confused
idunno.gif
If you are never supose to wash an egg how do you keep notes on it (per Pete55) I understand it's perferable not to wash. I also know never to use warm/hot water it'll cause the pores to open more. But sometimes the eggs are horrid. Do we just eat those?
P. Sue

I rinse the worst of the dirt off of my goose eggs and then let them air dry. I have an Iowa farm background and my family said the bloom on the egg helped keep it from spoiling, but if you don't use soap some stays in and on the pores. I tried the goose turners for my hovabator and didn't like them so I mist and hand turn my eggs. I also incubated the first eggs from all three of my geese, all of which are less than a year old and I have only had 5 that weren't fertile out of 30. This is my third time to incubate eggs so I don't feel as if I am an authority by any means and I am still learning.

Thanks Littledear,
I helped my Grandma with chickens but had never used an incubator or handled Geese.