To Show or Not to Show?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by HHHeritageFarm, Jan 25, 2011.

1. HHHeritageFarm

HHHeritageFarm New Egg

Jan 25, 2011
    Hello,

I am new to Australorps and am not familiar with desired breed characteristics. I am looking for some advise on confirmation and weather or not my birds are of good quality. My rooster is a Blue Australorp and my hen is black but carries the blue gene.

Any advise is helpful.

Cheers,
    Holly

PS I am unable to post my pictures which makes answering my question a little difficult, any suggustions there?

2. Celtic Hill

Celtic Hill Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 7, 2010
    Scotland CT
    Get the standard of perfection, plus you can always go to a show and talk to the judges about the good and bad qualities of your bird.

Do YOU want to show your birds?

3. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Quote:That's actually impossible. A blue chicken has one blue allele, a black chicken has none, and a splash has both alleles. So, one either has a single gene and is blue or has none and is black. [​IMG]

But, as said before, do you actually want to show your birds? Because it only matters if you truly want to show them and breed them for such, otherwise, they're pretty similar to "hatchery quality" aside from having a higher production but shorter production lifespan as well as less weight and meat on the body.

If you do, the thing to do is get the American Standard of Perfection. Bible to chicken showing and breed characteristics. [​IMG]

4. HHHeritageFarm

HHHeritageFarm New Egg

Jan 25, 2011
    Isn't the Blue gene recessive? If you cross Blue x blue and you get 50% blue, 25% black, and 25% splash, wouldn't the 25% Black and 25% Splash carry the recessive gene but not express it? And if you breed a two blacks each carring the recessive gene won't you get 25% Blue?

5. HHHeritageFarm

HHHeritageFarm New Egg

Jan 25, 2011
  6. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors